My name is Jessie… and I’m a Bookaholic.

I thought that little confession would be a fitting place to start as this little addiction is what caused me to be a book polygamist.
Now, a few of you may be asking “How can you be a book polygamist? Surely you don’t MARRY books? …You sick freak”. Hey now! Name-calling isn’t a great start to this blogger/reader relationship! You should be ashamed of yourself! But to answer your question, no,  I don’t marry books (that would be weird) but i do read 4-5 at a time (which many people i.e. my friends and family, find weird anyway – at least I don’t marry em guys!).
The reason being a bookaholic has led me to a life of book polygamy is that i just can’t stop buying and borrowing books, and if i didn’t read multiple at once I’d have died in a book-alanche like one of those crazy ladies that collect newspapers. Also I’ve been reading more than one book at a time for so many years that i find it quite odd and boring if i only limit myself to one (even two or three just doesn’t feel right :S ).
Even with my book philandering, i still have multiple “to read” piles. Below is a picture of the top shelf of my bookshelf which is devoted entirely to books I’ve bought but have yet to read.

And yes, they are double stacked

And those aren’t even the ones in the running to be read in the near future. For ones i want to read next or soon i have two piles on my bedside table (one of my own books and one of library books) and two on my shelves (one of books borrowed from my friend Sarah and one of books borrowed from my little brother).

The one on the left is usually larger, but I’m due for a trip to the Library 🙂

On the left is Sarah’s books, on the right is my little bro’s

So, as you can see i have a virtual Harem of  books to choose from and I hope you enjoy me rambling on about them 🙂
Catch me next time when I’ll talk about the 5 I’m reading now.

P.S. Sorry for the (lack of) quality of the photos. They’re taken with my phone as I am without a camera at the moment

3 thoughts on “My name is Jessie… and I’m a Bookaholic.

Leave a Reply

