The OTHER Twilight and another Dead

Twilight

I contemplated doing an April Fools post about reading Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight and raving about how good it was (which to anyone who knows me and my anti-twihard stance would be a good gag) but even thinking about it made me cringe a bit so I didn’t bother 😛

One of the new books I started last night is called Twilight but it is a world away from the tween vamp-romance. From what is written in the blurb and cover reviews, which includes quotes like:
‘It seems the local undertaker, Fenton Breece, has been playing sinister games with the town’s dead.’ – Blurb.
,
‘This is Southern Gothic of the very darkest hue…To be read in broadest daylight.’ – Kate Saunders, The Times. 
and

It is doubtful a more brilliant or more sinister adult fairy tale will be written this year.’ – Tom Cox, Daily Mail.

and with what i’ve read so far, I know I’m in for a wild (and creepy) ride 🙂

Coincidently, the other book I’ve started is also a Southern story, and promises to also be a wild ride:

From Dead to Worse

YAY! The next Sookie Stackhouse book 🙂 I only read the prologue last night, and I know this one is going to be a wild ride for two reasons:

  1. The prologue was a re-cap of what happened in the last book which if you read my review of All Together Dead  you will know ended quite dramatically. The previous books haven’t needed a prologue to re-cap, so I’m anticipating a rollercoaster ride with this one 😉
  2. The blurb ended like this:

‘And when the fur has finished flying and the cold blood has stopped flowing, Sookie’s world will be forever altered…’

O.O oh boy.

Leave a Reply

