Library Polygamist

If you have been following my recent adventures you will know that I have been doing work experience at Joondalup Library as part of my Library & Information Services Diploma. This means that I have gone from being loyal to my local library to having 3 library cards in my purse: my original City of Bayswater one; one for City of Joondalup; and one for the State Library of Western Australia (mainly acquired so I could use their vast collection of databases for study).

As I have mentioned in a previous post I have tried to be restrained at Joondalup by not borrowing too many books that caught my eye while working amongst them, and have done pretty well by only borrowing 4 so far (out of a maximum of 10!) …. that was until my last day yesterday.

I won't let you slip away this time!

Firstly I knew a book I requested was waiting for me because I got a friendly email a few days ago. The book was the new Flavia de Luce mystery, A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley which I borrowed a while ago at the new Maylands Library with glee but sadly had to return a couple of weeks ago because someone in Bayswater had requested it 😦 The Joondalup catalogue came to the rescue, saying one of their libraries had the book but it was out, so I placed a request and ta da! it was there waiting for me on the self-serve request shelf a week or two later 🙂

Then, when I was shelving in the mystery/thriller/crime section (Joondalup arranges resources by genre then call number) I spotted two books that looked like my cup of tea and promptly stashed them at the bottom of my trolley to be borrowed when I was done:

A couple of mysterious tidbits

These three new books from Joondalup along with a new one I picked up at Maylands when I was last there (Neil Gaiman’s American Gods) has made my “from the library” (or libraries now) pile look like a scary leaning tower of Pisa:

TIMBER!

Since I am now on mid-semester holidays (JOY!) I expect I will be reading a lot more so once I’ve finished one of my current books (most likely The Secrets of the Chess Machine as I’m nearing the end) I am going to start one of the ones on this pile (probably A Red Herring Without Mustard as I don’t want to risk someone stealing it off me again!) and maybe even take my next few from there as well to make it a bit less perilous.

Because of my holidays all you loyal Bookbaggers and new visitors can expect a bit more action from me so stay tuned!

In other news the poll for the next Top 10 theme will be closed by Monday and then I will start the posts for the winning theme, which unless there is a flood of votes in the next couple of days will be (drumroll please!):

Top 10 Book that made me Laugh/Top 10 Books that made me Cry

I’m looking forward to it 🙂

One thought on “Library Polygamist

Leave a Reply

