From Flavia to Flowers

About a month ago I received a distressing email….from the library. It seemed one of the books I was reading, A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley (the latest Flavia de Luce mystery) was overdue, but fear not! I said to myself and journeyed to their website to renew the book and continue reading in peace. However, to my horror I was denied my relieving renewal because some other Flavia lover had requested it!

I have conquered you, you wily bastard! 😀

What was I to do? I was already well into the story and who knows whether I could find it at a supplementary library, especially since I had encountered trials with this exact book before. So I did what every sane person would do – I read the shit out of that book so I could return it before getting too many late fees! 😛

Suffice to say, I had a grand ole time in the world of Flavia de Luce for about a week and then returned it for the next person in line to enjoy 🙂 This was around the beginning of November and I had just been gifted a hearty swag of birthday books, so even ‘tho the book I had finished was a library one and I was due to choose my new book from the library pile, I thought the Books-I-Own-But-Haven’t-Read-Yet pile could use some pruning.

It turns out that pruning was an appropriate word, as once I had reached the end of a complicated and exhaustive eeny meeny miney moe (more complicated and exhaustive than usual as there was 13 books on the pile!) I arrived at The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, one of the books my mum gave me 🙂

Very intriguing already

However, since I had neglected my other books while I was engrossed with my Flavia mission, I’ve been doing some catch-up and didn’t actually start The Language of Flowers ’til the other night. Even ‘tho I was tried I still read a few chapters and am drawn in already, so stay tuned for a review fairly soon.

Also I apologize for my lack of reviews lately. I have quite a few waiting to be started (The Eddie Dickens Trilogy; Coldheart Canyon; A Red Herring Without Mustard; Monster Blood Tattoo Book 2: Lamplighter; and Watchmen) but as each one involves some serious brain-work and my brain is busy with whats left of my assessments/homework for the semester, I’ve had none to spare.

I promise (cross my hard-drive, hope to crash) that once the semester ends (or possibly before if I’m clever and get stuff done early) I will write every damn one of them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

