Plentiful Finds and What a Coincidence!

Hello all!

I’ve had a couple of crazy weeks lately, leading up to the end of the semester and working as well, but on the upside my recent work at Central library and starting casual work at Joondalup has resulted in some extra money which is always nice 🙂

This extra cash burning a hole in my pocket has allowed me to start my Xmas shopping and, as is to be expected, I have bought myself quite a few books – and pretty exciting and cheap ones at that!

The books I have found are (yes, alphabetical order and all!):

Title: Ares Express
Author: Ian McDonald
Country of Origin: UK
Genre: Science Fiction

 

 

 

Title: Boneshaker
Author: Cherie Priest
Country of Origin: USA
Genre: Science Fiction/Steampunk-zombie-airship Adventure ;P

 

 

 

Title: Bye, Beautiful
Author: Julia Lawrinson
Country of Origin: Australia
Genre: Australiana/Literary/Young Adult

 

 

 

Title: The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Country of Origin: Netherlands
Genre: Historical/Literary

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of these were op-shop finds and so cost under 10 bucks each, and I’m quite pleased with the variety of genres I have found 🙂

On top of the op-shop finds I also purchased a book that I have been waiting for since the beginning of time (or at least it feels like that) – the newest book in the Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody, The Sending!

I am outrageously ecstatic about finally getting my hands on this book, because as I have said before I have been hanging out for it since I finished the last one (Feb 2009!) and the release date has changed so many times since then.

In other reading news, I finished Trick or Treat by Kerry Greenwood last night and straight away chose another book off my Library book to-read pile using my usual process and out of the 9 books on the pile I happened to end up on this book:

The Extraordinary and Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle by Catherine Webb

I’ve wanted to read this for a while, and I did borrow it from Joondalup after a uni friend and Bookbagger recommended it, but recently it had to go back because someone else had requested it and I re-borrowed it from Maylands.

The reason choosing this book was a bit of a funny coincidence is that last week I saw that the friend/Bookbagger who recommended it in the first place (you know who you are ;P)  is currently reading it as well! Maybe we can share little Horatio Lyle tidbits with each other 🙂

Well, that’s all for now. I am closing my recent poll tomorrow so if you want to have your say get in fast! At the ‘mo the theme in the lead is Obscure books/recommended books which will consist of the following two Top 10 posts: Top 10 books I’ve read that no one seems to have heard of and Top 10 books I think everyone should read. It’s a pretty fun one so I’m happy it’s winning, but there’s some other great ones in the poll too so I wouldn’t mind a sudden landslide ;P

4 thoughts on “Plentiful Finds and What a Coincidence!

Leave a Reply

