From Flowers to Fossils

Hello my beloved Bookbaggers!

I know I have been MIA lately and I apologise. Since I finished my term/semester/year of studies I expected I would able to relax and do things I enjoy (such as blogging) much more but as soon as I was on holidays I was inundated with calls to work at the City of Joondalup libraries (where I am on the casual pool). I loved getting some more library experience but It meant that I had no time to write the second half of my last Top 10 list or to do any long overdue reviews.

So this is just a little check-in to let you know that I’m still living, breathing and reading and I hope to at least do the other Top 10 and a review or two before the end of 2011, and to fill you in on my recent reading adventures 🙂

I little over a week ago I finished The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Niffenbaugh, which was a beautiful story that will definitely be a late addition to my top reads of the year 🙂

I then was faced with a monumental task: picking a new book from the frighteningly tall pile of books I have bought but have yet to read. The pile has been growing in height for a while because the shelf that usually houses all my book buys is pushed to its limit and of course I still keep purchasing books or receiving them as gifts! So when I laid them out on my bed there was a grand total of 17 books to choose from, way too many for my usual process to work. I still did my eeny meeny miny moe (as I am a freak of habit) but instead of just eliminating a single book at each stage I eliminated two and it worked quite well.

Once I was down to two I couldn’t be bothered trying to invent a new step so I just choose the book which has been on the pile the longest: Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier. Remarkable Creatures is the only Tracy Chevalier novel that I have not read yet and as soon as I saw she had released a new book I bought it. That was in 2009 so it is about time I finally started it and so far I have loved it just as much as previous Chevalier gems – it even looks like it will be in my top reads of 2011 (if I finish it in time O.o)

That’s it for now, but stay tuned for action before and after Christmas as I have no more work lined up til January.

Leave a Reply

