The 2011 home stretch

Leading up to this, the final day of 2011 it seemed like I wouldn’t finish any of the five books I was reading and my final tally for the year would be 40, the smallest number i’ve achieved in the past few years!

I was a bit disappointed with this especially because I set myself a goal of 45 (which I thought was quite conservative considering I read 50 last year) on Shelfari.

But then I found myself quite bored over the last few days what with Christmas being well and truly over, no work scheduled until January, homebound because my dog has had half her teeth removed and I had to look after her, and bad holiday TV, so I have been reading A LOT! 🙂

First I was hooked on V for Vendetta

which I finished on the 29th, then I turned my attention to Remarkable Creatures

which I finished devouring yesterday, and then I polished off The Extraordinary and Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle last night and some of today!

Because of my zealous reading habits not only have I bumped my tally up to 43 (nothing on last year but not too bad considering all the study and work I’ve been doing :)) but I was able to choose two new books to start in 2012:

Adultery by Richard B Wright that came from my Library Book pileand Charlaine Harris’ Grave Sight that was the winning book out of 17 in my Books I Own But Have Yet To Read leaning tower of Pisa 🙂I will also be taking two books into the new year with me – Books of Blood vol. 1-3 by Clive Baker which I have been reading over 30 weeks (and counting O.o) because if I read more than a couple of stories in one sitting I can feel myself going a tad madand The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, which I am yet to fully get in tobut there’s bound to be stragglers when one reads multiple books at once 🙂

For now I wish you all a great New Years Eve (I will be keeping my gummy dog company and watching DVDs like the premature nana that I am :)) and I will see you all in 2012 with a special version of my Top 10s: my Top 10 Reads of 2011! and the 2011 Book Polygamist Awards! where I will give awards to books that took me the least and most time to read, the author that I read the most and other little tidbits.

Cya next year and as always, Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

