From Blood to Black and a new Book Journal!

This afternoon I *FINALLY* finished the Books of Blood vol. 1-3 by Clive Barker today after reading it sporadically over 34 weeks!

This meant that I could finally choose a new book off the pile that I borrowed off my friend Sarah, which has remained untouched since I read Coldheart Canyon. There were a few on there that I have wanted to read for a while, including another Clive Barker, the Phryne Fisher book I’m up to, a book of short stories, the second Parrish Plessis book (a Sci Fi series by a local author that I began reading last year) and the first book in a series Sarah has raved about (The Parasol Protectorate).

After a fairly quick eeny meeny miny moe I ended up on Code Noir, the second Parrish Plessis book by Marianne De Pierres 🙂

Since I filled up the last couple of pages of my Bibliofile (my reading journal) with the first two reads of the year I have been noting down new books in the back to be transcribed into the new reading journal I bought once it arrived. This has been pretty annoying to me because, as you may have noticed if you’ve been reading Book Polygamist for a while, I like to do things a certain way and I have a ritualistic way of choosing and chronicling my reads. Therefore I was very excited when I went to the letterbox today before heading to the shops and found a package waiting for me!

As I haven’t ordered anything else besides The Book Lover’s Journal I knew what was inside the paper and bubble-wrapped gift, so as soon as I returned from my shopping adventure I ripped it open and started inputting my books into the journal and otherwise perusing its contents.

Its early days still but this may be the best reading journal I’ve used so far. Before the Bibliofile I used a different book called Book Lover’s Journal which I loved because It had the usual fields to fill out (Title, Author, when you read it, your review etc.) but had added ones like Life Experiences While Reading and a Synopsis of the book; it was littered with interesting quotes and book lists; and it was very pretty 🙂 The Bibliofile was different but also really good because it had special pages to document your favourite authors, reading habits, movie adaptations of books etc.

My new Book Lover’s Journal is like a mix of the good points from its predecessors – it has plenty of fields to input data about the books into, from the standard title/author to number of pages, genre, how you discovered or acquired the book and noteworthy experiences while reading, but it goes beyond by having a rating system where you can give a rating from 1-10 on the quality of writing, pace, plot development, characters and more; it has an area for recording books you want to read, as well as an area that keeps track of where you acquire books and ones you have borrowed or lent; and it also has sections for fave authors and other details of reading habits.

But the best bit about this journal is there are 67 book log spots so I won’t be running out of space and writing notes in the back of the book any time soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

