Classically fitting parcel

The other day I received another parcel in the mail from my bookclub and one that fit in nicely with this month’s Top 10 theme (Top 10 “Classics” and Top 10 Classics I Want to Read, which I hope to finish and post tomorrow).

The parcel contained a 4-book collection of children’s classics: Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott and The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas.

Each volume has a beautiful embossed hardcover, is filled with illustrations by Robert Dunn, has a ribbon page marker and a short bio of the author at the back. The stories have been adapted for children by Ronne Randell so they are a bit shorter and less complex than the original, but are still a lovely collection and I can’t wait til I can read them to one of my friends’ children 🙂

In other news I have decided that this month will be Free Pick February, a month in which when I finish a book and choose a new one I will forgo my usual process and pick whichever book I want off the pile! I decided this when the same books I longed to read were being eliminated early on in my eeny meeny miny moe-ing, and while I like my weird habits I wanted to take a bit of a break from them for a while, and February being the shortest month it seemed like the perfect period of time 🙂

I have also made a decision about my back log of reviews. While I want to complete all the old reviews I also want to get back on track with the new ones so they don’t pile up as well, so each month I will do at least one old review and do the new reviews as soon as I finish a book, starting with the next one I finish. Hopefully this will flex my rusty reviewing muscles and the old reviews will be done before I know it 🙂

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “Classically fitting parcel

Leave a Reply

