From the Land of the Free to simply Freedom; and move over Lee, here comes Poe!

On Friday on my way home from work I finally finished American Gods by Neil Gaiman, a book I have been slowly enjoying over 16 weeks. This may seem like a while for a book that I was enjoying and not struggling through, but besides being so busy and unable to read most of the time, I was purposefully taking my sweet time with  American Gods because it was such a wonderfully rambling, intricate, epic tale that every bit I devoured deserved a good rumination and digestion 🙂
I will get to reviewing it eventually (probably along with a flood of  backlogged reviews once I gain my diploma in June – yay!)

The only problem with finishing American Gods (despite the fact that it was one of those novels I wished would never end) was that I had no books on my library book pile to choose from! Of course I still had four other books on the go so it wasn’t really a disaster, but there were so many books at the library (or libraries really) that I have borrowed and had to return before I could even get to them that to have zero to choose from was just sad. Luckily I could just jump on the Maylands Library catalogue over the weekend and request a bunch of “lost” library books to borrow come Monday and as soon as my class finished midday today I checked my account and saw that 5 of my requested books (out of 8) were already waiting for me 🙂
Once I got home I went through my usual process and ended up with a novel I have heard a lot of positive hype about: Freedom by Jonathan Franzen.

Meanwhile, during the Mother’s Day weekend when I wasn’t spoiling my mum with flowers, a home cooked brekkie (breakfast in Australian :P) and a scrumptious dinner at her favourite local restaurant/cafe Picco’s Kitchen, I was reading the last few chapters of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. The raving for this classic is virtually bottomless so I won’t add to it now, but I will get to an appropriately raving review soon 🙂 Once I finished and wrote my thoughts in my Book Lover’s Journal I waded through the mountainous Books-I-Own-But-Have-Yet-To-Read pile and ended up with Tales of Mystery and Imagination, a collection of stories by Edgar Allan Poe that I received for Xmas last year. I’ve never actually read Poe’s stories, though I’m a fan his poem/short story The Raven, so I’m quite excited to get into some classic Gothic creepiness 😀

As always Happy Reading to you all, especially all those mothers out there, other loved ones that are surrogate mothers and women like myself who choose not to be mothers 🙂

Leave a Reply

