From the end of the Woodpecker to the Beginning of an Ending

Two weeks ago I finished reading Still Life With Woodpecker by Tom Robbins, a fantastic novel that took me 18 weeks to finish despite it being a mere 277 pages long, mainly because I haven’t been reading on a regular basis due to study and then work. Since I have been plodding through the other three books i’m reading for almost as long or even longer (Blood, Guts and Whiskey for 23 weeks and counting; Tales of Mystery and Imagination by Edgar Allan Poe for 16 weeks; and Freedom by Jonathan Franzen for 14 weeks) I was excited to finally get into something new, but I was also dreading picking one of the thicker books on my To Read pile which with the reading rate i’ve developed lately I would probably still be reading come 2013.

To my surprise and joy the eeny meeny miney moe Gods smiled upon me leading me to the thinnest book of the bunch – a novella which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize – The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes – weighing in at a teeny 150 pages. Suffice to say even though I’ve only had two or three reading sessions with The Sense of an Ending I’ve almost finished which should lead to a quick review and then choosing of another (hopefully) thin yet enjoyable book 🙂

At this rate my reading tally for 2012 (the National Year of Reading no less!) which is looking very sad at the moment (only 14 books when my average per year is 30-40 O.O) still has a glimmer of hope – hazah!

Leave a Reply

