RIP savethewords.org :'(

Some of you may have noticed that last Saturday was lacking a Save The Words Saturday post – especially their biggest fan cricketmuse. I’m guessing that if you did notice you probably just thought that I forgot, or that since its now 2013, Save The Words Saturdays were no more (after all, they were only meant to be a special feature for the National Year of Reading).

Initially I had planned to end all the National Year of Reading features after 2012, but they have been so popular (in fact because of the Save The Words posts cricketmuse nominated me for another blogger award! More on that soon ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), and don’t take up much of my time (plus I enjoy doing them) that I had decided to continue them. The only problem is – savethewords.org no longer exists ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ :'(.

crying girl meme

I have been doing the Save The Words Saturdays in bulk and scheduling them ahead of time so I haven’t actually been on the site for months, but when I tried to go there last Friday to pick a new bunch of weird and wonderful words and the website didn’t appear after several tries I just thought the link was broken or my stupid, old laptop was acting up. When a google search didn’t dredge up the site, but instead several pages of people asking where it had gone my heart sank. I went to the top result which was the savethewords.org Facebook page and found what I feared – savethewords.org has been shut down and now only exists on a web archive (which I can’t figure out) and in the hearts of the Logophiles who miss it.

Upon hearing this news I was determined that the Save The Words Saturdays would still live on and I went trawling the web for sites similar to savethewords.org. While there were heaps of wonderful sites that showcase forgotten words, none of them attracted me as much as savethewords and none were right for the Save The Words Saturdays.

I still want to do a regular feature which promotes increasing your vocabulary, knowledge of words and the etymology of language, but at the moment I’m not sure what that will entail and when It will begin.

My current idea is either to focus more on the etymology of common words and sayings (using The Dictionary Series by Linda & Roger Flavell which resides in one of our lounge room bookshelves) or one of my favourite quirks of the English language – Collective Nouns. I have to research and think on the problem a little longer before I decide what to do (if its manageable I may even do regular features on both etymology AND Collective Nouns ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) but in the meantime feel free to voice your own opinions and suggestions in the comments.

To avoid further disappointments I will be updating all the Save The Words Saturday posts so that people know that the parent site no longer exists and removing all the broken links. Savethewords.org will be sorely missed but at least I have helped it live on a little bit by shining my little interwebs light on 49 of the forgotten words it tried to save.

savethewords.org

Bye bye bizarre words ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

No matter what I post in the future I hope that those of you who enjoyed Save The Words Saturdays will continue to look for, and learn about words that are close to extinction and I wish you all:

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “RIP savethewords.org :'(

  1. So glad I found your blogpost! I went looking for savethewords.org and did the same thing you did – blamed it on my computer. savethewords.org will be missed.

    Like

  2. Shocking!! Words escape my dismay. Time for some serious Googling. There must be other etymologists mourning the losses and scrambling to fill the gap–right?
    Do keep me posted–and thanks for the shout out ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Wordlover says:

    I know this post is old, but thought some may be interested in a blog I recently came across for old words and phrases.
    It’s not as fun as Save as the Words, but does give etymologies and an example of the word from a book.
    There’s currently around 2000 words, with more being added every day.
    There’s an alphabetical listing of all the words, and reverse dictionary too.

    http://wordsofyesterday.blogspot.ca/

    Like

    • Wow what a great find! Thanks for sharing Wordlover ๐Ÿ™‚ As a fellow lover of words I’m happy to see people still interested in Save The Words and on the look out for other word-promoting sites

      Like

Leave a Reply

