New books up the wazoo!

I week or so I realised that recently I have acquired quite a few new books that I haven’t shared with you, my beloved Bookbaggers!

You may not be particularly interested in my new purchases/library borrowings, but if you are read on and gaze in wonder at the bargains and tantalizing tomes I have acquired! 😀

Firstly I took a trip to my local library when I had to take Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane and Mammels by Pierre Mérot and got a new haul:

library books

In case you can’t quite read the titles: Peaches for Father Francis by Joanne Harris (AKA Peaches for Monsieur le Cure, the second sequel to Chocolat); The Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman (the first Sandman graphic novel); Shades of Grey by Jasper FfordeSkinlane by Neil Bartlett (which I have borrowed and re-borrowed a few times without actually getting to it); Carnevale by M.R. Lovric;  and The Diviner’s Son by Gary Crew.)

Then while visiting one of my best friends, who has been working at the Maylands Salvo’s store I bought myself a bunch of books:

op-shop buys

Again the titles are: Zoology by Ben Dolnick (a debut novel from 2007 with a very pretty cover 🙂 ); Ravelling by Peter Moore Smith (another debut novel, from 2000, which sounds wonderfully spooky!); The Third Brother by Nick McDonell (who also wrote Twelve, a book I read a few years ago and was one of my Top 10 Reads of 2010 – pre-Book Polygamist); The Cure for Death by Lightning by Gail Anderson-Dargatz (which is another debut novel, from 1996 with a very pretty cover); Falling Angels by Tracy Chevalier (which I read a few years ago but still wanted to own); and Fly By Night by Frances Hardinge (which I chose because of the blurb: “In a cut-throat world of highwaymen, spies and smugglers, and insane rulers in silly wigs, runaway Mosca Mye and her goose companion have uncovered a dark plot winging its way toward the city”. It had me at “goose companion” :P).

Then on the 3rd of March I went to the Hyde Park Fair and HAD to get this bunch of books (they were for orphans! What was i meant to do? :P):

hyde park fair books

Blackberry Wine by Joanne Harris (as I’ve already established Joanne Harris is one of my favourite authors so I had to add this one to the collection 🙂 ); Pilgrim by Sara Douglass (Book 2 of the Wayfarer Redemption Trilogy, which is a follow-up to one of my Top 10 Fantasy Series’); The Good Major by Andrew Nicoll (which was one of my Top 10 Reads of 2011); Curious and Curiouser by Dr Karl Kruszelnicki (a non-fiction buy which I’m certain will be very amusing and informative); and last but certainly not least, The Lot: In Words by Michael Leunig (a collection of essays by one of my favourite writers/cartoonists 🙂 )

AND THEN on the 10th of March I went to Oz Comic Con and besides getting lots of awesome bit and bobs (mostly jewelry :D) I got Soulless, the manga based on Gail Carriger‘s Parasol Protectorate series, which I have really taken a shine to:

soulless from oz comic con

and these cute bookmarks:

bookmarks from oz comic con

(that’s actually just two bookmarks – the single bird one has the black and silver on one side and the silver and blue/purple on the other, and the owl one is the same on both sides. I also go two badges which match the owls on the bookmark ^-^)

I’m absolutely chuffed with my new books and bookmarks, and I can’t wait to read some of them soon 🙂

I’m going to end with a short reminder. My blogiversary competition ends on the 31st, less than a week from now, so if you want to enter you need to get in quick smart!

Currently there are only 4 entrants, which means if no one else enters all but person will get a prize (nice odds for the current entrants, but not so lucky for the single person that misses out!) so if you haven’t entered please do so and make the giveaway a little more interesting 😉

That’s it for now, so as always:

Happy Reading (and acquiring)!

9 thoughts on “New books up the wazoo!

  1. Vasiliki says:

    I love book hauls 😀 I haven’t read any of these though 😛 i hope you enjoy them 🙂
    I just love those bookmarks! They’re so pretty and they have owls :DD
    hmm, i’ll remind some of my friends who are interested in books about the giveaway 🙂
    Happy reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

