And the winner is…….!

“The time has come” the (Book Polygamist) Walrus said, “to talk of many things. Of blogiversaries– and sealing wax–of competitions–and kings. And why bookmarks are boiling hot, and whether books have wings!”

walrusalice

O frabjous day! CalloohCallay! It is time my scrumptious Bookbaggers to announce the winners of my Blogiversary Competition!!!!

It’s been lovely to see the response from you regarding my first giveaway – I didn’t get a huge amount of entrants, but the ones that did enter were enthusiastic and didn’t all want the same book, so that was nice 🙂 As can be expected there were a few speed-humps (I became a bit more lax with the rules when I realised that only WordPressers could “like” the post) but we made it in the end, and with less than half of the entrants being my own friends/family! Huzzah!

I did want to choose the winners yesterday, but I was a tad suspicious of anything on the Internet as it was April Fools Day so I didn’t trust that the random generator I used would be legit.

So without further ado (and if you haven’t already skipped ahead to see if you’ve won) I give you the official entrants followed by the Grand Prize Winner, First Runner-Up and Second Runner-Up!

Entrants:

01 – Vasiliki

Book Choice: Still Life with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins

still life with woodpecker

Bookmark preference: “mmm owls? :P but if there’s nothing with owls or tea, then… anything dark, or witchy or zombies :O lol :P you pick, i like everything i mentioned :)

02 – Tammy Sparks

Book choice: American Gods by Neil Gaiman

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Bookmark preferences: “As far as bookmarks go, I’m not sure what you’re asking for exactly, but I do like anything scary:)”

03 – angelicreader

Book Choice: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collinshungergames

Bookmark Preferences: “Bookmark? Surprise me :) There is very few things I would not like!”

04 – Una

Book Choice: The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groffmonstersoftempleton

Bookmark Preference: Didn’t have one = a surprise 😛

05 – Sarah

Book Choice: American Gods by Neil GaimanAmerican Gods by Neil Gaiman

Bookmark Preference: “As for book mark….anything that isn’t a receipt or one of my pay slips, which are my most common bookmarks :P

06 – MM (via Facebook email)

Book Choice: Secrets of Eden by Chris Bohjaliansecrets-of-eden

Bookmark Preference: “um something with red”

07 – Lambrina (via email)

Book Choice: The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternThe Night Circus

Bookmark Preference: “For the theme of bookmark i love witches, fairies and vampires.”

The Grand Winner:

winner 1

Entrant number 03 – angelicreader! Congratulations Angelique! 😀

Gold_Medal_2_Clipart_Free

First Runner-Up:

winner 2

Entrant number 04 – Una!

Silver_Medal_2_Clipart_Free

Second Runner-Up:

winner 3

Entrant number 05 – Sarah!

bronze-medal-md

I swear this is exactly how it generated! I even had to do the runner-ups a few times because 3 and 4 kept popping up! So, an extra thanks to the random number generator for giving me such non-random results – at least it wasn’t 1, 2 and 3 😛 Plus I love how all three winners didn’t do a preference for their bookmarks so I can go a little silly 😀

angelicreader – I will be ordering your copy of The Hunger Games this afternoon, and you can also expect an email officially congratulating you, giving you a time-frame for delivery and asking for your preferred delivery address 🙂

Una – As you are in Ireland on holiday you won’t see this for a while (at least I hope you won’t be reading blogs on your holiday!) but I will have a nice surprise for you when you get back 🙂

Sarah – You can expect a random bookmark when I next see you – most likely this weekend 😛

I’m happy with the winners because Angelique is one of my newest and most loyal bookbaggers, Una went out of her comfort zone to enter the competition by commenting when she had never done so before and wasn’t entirely sure about the process, and Sarah is one of my best friends, and the first official Bookbagger in my eyes, and she deserves a proper bookmark to use rather than a receipt or payslip 😉

However I do want to say a big thank you to the other entrants, especially Billie (AKA Vasiliki) who was the first to enter, and told her friends about the competition leading to my seventh entrant – 7 made it a tad more interesting than 6 😛

I hope I did ok with my first competition and I hope I’ll be able to do more in the future – maybe I’ll make it a regular blogiversary thing!

Ta ta for now and as always:

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “And the winner is…….!

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay! Thank you for the wonderful gift of a non receipt-or-payslip based bookmark! 😀
    I think it went well. I thought there was good mix of options for the books. Had I not already acquired a copy of Night Circus the choice would have been harder (which is a good thing. I like a list that makes you go “oo, I want that one and that one and that one!”).
    Congratulations on your first competition!
    (Also, does that mean I get the Shades of Firsting?)

    Like

  2. Huzzah! I won I won I won!
    I know everyone always says this… but I never win 😀 I am sooo excited. Now I will be forced to read The Hunger Games. 😀
    And I look forward to my surprise. I tend to lean towards what ever piece of paper is close to me as well so I am with Sarah on this one.
    Once again Happy Blogiversary. It is, as always, a pleasure reading your posts!

    Like

    • 😀 you got in before I had a chance to email you! Congrats! I’m even happier that you won now I know you never win anything 🙂 I’ve already ordered The Hunger Games and I will be on the lookout for a unique bookmark for you while I’m waiting for it to arrive

      Like

  3. Vasiliki says:

    Congratulations to all the winners!! And thank you for the mention :DD I wish i could’ve persuaded more :/ My friends aren’t very bookish 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

