Challenges Update # 1 + Tiny Tidbits from Leederville

Hello Bookbaggers one and all! this is just a quickie post to update you on my current challenges and tell you about another small book purchase I made (ooo naughty naughty!)

poe.my.god challenge badge

  This weekend I only read one story from Tales of Mystery and Imagination because it was a lengthy and pretty distressing one – Murders in the Rue Morgue. If you haven’t read it I won’t be a rotten spoiler, but lets just say it’s about a horrific murder with an unusual instigator, and it’s quite gory – especially for the time period. Anyway, the story directly after, The Mystery of Marie Rogetis a sequel to Murders in the Rue Morgue and is also fairly lengthy, so I didn’t quite have the energy to read it and a couple more to reach my goal. Luckily next week I am on term break (yay!) so I will have plenty of free time to catch up 🙂 comiccompanions-badge   Tuesday arvo I finished Unholy Magic by Stacia Kane  and so chose the Diviner’s Son by Gary Crew off my library pile:gary-crew-diviners-son-1and as the Comic Companion, the first Volume of The Sandman – Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman: preludes and nocturnes   As for the little purchase, I was in Leederville because I had a Professional Development session (Dealing with Challenging Students as a Frontline Officer) at the Leederville campus of my work, so once it was finished I had a little peruse in one of my favourite bookstores, Oxford Street Books to see if they had a book I’d been looking for for a while – Craig Silvey‘s The Amber Amulet. To my delight they did have The Amber Amulet, and I was so elated I made a couple of impulse purchases with books displayed at the checkout – The Tiny Wife, an adorable wee novella by Andrew Kaufman and The Little Book of Books by Jennifer Worick 🙂

Here they be:

oxford street books buys

 

And I just realised that they all have a similar colour scheme  which also happened last time I bought from Oxford Street Books…. hmmmm

Anyway, they are currently sitting on my bedside table where I normally place my phone and glasses before snooze time, so I will probably just read them on a whim, maybe whilst I’m on holidays 🙂

Ta, ta for now and:

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Challenges Update # 1 + Tiny Tidbits from Leederville

Leave a Reply

