Challenges update # 4 + the only upside to being sick

Hello to all my patient and gorgeous Bookbaggers!

You may have noticed I’ve been a bit absent of late, which is mainly due to a horrendous snot monster invading my head for most of last week. It has now been banished thanks to my fearsome weapons (the Blade of Lemon and Honey, the Mighty Twin Swords of Paracetamol and Phenylephrine Hydrochloride, and the Swift Arrows of Rest and Plentiful Liquids) and I am back to my normal schedule 🙂

While being home sick is generally the pits, I did encounter one upside – I had plenty of time to read, and not much energy to do anything else, so I actually have quite a bit to tell you in this update!

poe.my.god challenge badge

Since my last update I have read 4 more stories: The Unparalleled Adventure of one Hans Pfaall (a somewhat interesting and amusing tale of a man who escapes dept collectors by attempting to travel to the moon in a gas-propelled balloon) which I read the Sunday before the Snot Monster invaded;  The Pit and the Pendulum (one of Poe’s most famous and darkest tales, of a prisoner which wakes up in a torture chamber complete with a deep pit and fearsome swinging blade which gradually descends upon him) which I read while I was sick; The Domain of Arnheim (a story about a man’s quest to create an elaborate and gargantuan garden after he receives a huge inheritance, which was wonderfully descriptive, but a tad dull in parts); and Landor’s Cottage (a companion/follow-on to The Domain of Arnheim where a traveller stumbles upon the massive man-made wilderness and eventually the cottage of its only inhabitants…presumably. Also a bit long-winded and dull in parts, but the descriptions are very rich), both of which I read last weekend.

I now have 10 stories to go, and 3 more weeks left of the challenge, so if I read 3-4 stories each week I should be set 🙂

comiccompanions-badgeAs I said, being sick enabled me to read a lot, which meant I finished 2 of my current reads, started 2 new ones, and read 3 graphic novels 😀

Firstly I really got into Among Others by Jo Walton among others

which I had started previously, but was less than 100 pages into when the sickness descended. I don’t know why exactly, but this was the perfect sickie read (maybe because it was easy to read and the subject matter wasn’t too heavy?) and by my third day off work I had finished it. I of course immediately spread out all 13 books on my Books-I-Own-And-Have-Yet-To-Read pile – which is destined to keep growing for all eternity due to my insatiable urge to buy books – and went through the long process of choosing a new read. I was tickled pink when my convoluted and sometimes flawed system of choosing reads resulted in one I had been looking forward to for a while: The Sending by Isobelle Carmody!! 😀

The Sending

Because it’s such an ample volume (weighing in at 756 pages) I thought it fitting to choose 2 Comic Companions rather than a lone one, and since they were already a neatly matched pair I chose:

4b_162581_0_BuffytheVampireSlayerTheOrigin

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Origin by Dan Brereton and Christopher Golden (writers), Joe Bennett (penciler) , Rick Ketcham (inker), Guy MajorJeromy Cox (colourists), and Ken Bruzenak (letterer) – which was a great re-telling of Joss Whedon’s original screenplay, doing it justice way better than the film version.

And:

the-killing-joke-deluxe-front-cover1

Batman: The Killing Joke: The Deluxe Edition by Alan Moore (writer), Brian Bolland (artist, colorist, writer), Ellie De Ville and Richard Starkings (letterers) – which was wonderfully chilling, bizarre and stunningly illustrated with some possible insight into the origin of Batman’s greatest nemesis (and I only just realised both were origin stories! Slow on the uptake much?)

A couple of days later I finished another current read – The Diviner’s Son by Gary Crew – which I had been further into before my sickness:

gary-crew-diviners-son-1and started reading City of Ghosts by Stacia Kane (which I had to get via a SLWA interlibrary loan, and so skipped my usual choosing process so it can go back to its home library before the due date)

city of ghostsand from the 4 graphic novels that I borrowed from work I chose a new Comic Companion:

the unwritten vol 1 The Unwritten: Tommy Taylor and the Bogus Identity (The Unwritten, Volume # 1) by Mike Carey (writer), Peter Gross (artist), Chris Chuckry and Jeanne McGee (colourists) and Todd Klein (letterer) –  which was absolutely brilliant! A really unique story, very gripping and beautifully drawn and inked/coloured. I loved it so much that I immediately went on Book Depository and bought the next 2 volumes because I had to know what happened!!

That’s it for now 🙂

I will try to make up for my absence by posting a few new things I have up my sleeves (some Notable Quotables, a couple of Collective Nounitude‘s and Adventures in Etymology, the next couple of installments of The Micro Reviews From Planet Procrastination, and an update on where the hell my full-length reviews and Top 10 lists have gone) in the days and weeks to come, and hopefully you will continue to find my disorderly schedule endearing 😀

Until then:

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Challenges update # 4 + the only upside to being sick

Leave a Reply

