Challenge Update # 7 – The final conquering of Poe!…and other things

Hello my snazzy, fabaroonie Bookbaggers!

This update is exciting because I FINALLY CONQUERED POE!! 😀

poe.my.god challenge badge

It seems like my scheme (schemed up in my last update) worked beautifully because on Thursday during my lunch break I started The Spectacles (an amusing story about a young, handsome man who refuses to wear spectacles despite imperfect vision because of vanity, falls in love with a woman that he sees at the theatre, marries her under her one condition – that he consents to wearing the dreaded eye-wear – and so discovers that she is not what she seems), continued to read it on my commute home, and then finished it that night (it was the longest of the remaining stories).

Then the next day I read The Cask of Amontillado in my lunch break as it was quite short (and I have to admit also quite confusing. I believe it was about a man who lures his drunken “friend” into an underground crypt with the promise of some rare and presumably fine wine, and then tries to brick him in? It was not as clear as many of the other tales so I was a bit bewildered by the end and uncertain of the man’s motive, or if he actually succeeded…).

Then on Saturday afternoon I polished off the last three tales: The Oval Portrait (another short, but chilling tale where Poe truly shines. This one was about a man who stays in a strange room while ill that is filled with artworks, and is unsettled by one particular portrait which is eerily life-like); The Tell-Tale Heart (one of Poe’s most well-known stories about a man who is driven to murder his employer because the simple noises he makes – such as his heart beating – grate on his delicate [*cough* insane *cough] ears, but once the deed is done and he has hidden the body he continues to hear the horrible beating of his master’s heart) and Ligeia (which is another great piece of Poe creepiness – basically the story of the ailing health and subsequent death of the narrators beloved wife, and then the ailing health, death and horrifying reanimation(s) of his next wife).

I’m so pleased that I was finally able to finish Tales of Mystery and Imagination, even if it did take me 1 year, 1 month and 1 day, but it was also a little strange finishing it, and my pile of books looks a bit odd now…

comiccompanions-badge

As well as finishing Tales of Mystery and Imagination this weekend I started The Obsidian Dagger: Being the Further Extraordinary Adventures of Horatio Lyle (Horatio Lyle #2) by Catherine Webb

obsidian dagger

started and finished White Tiger: A Hero’s Compulsion (White Tiger, Issue # 1) by Tamora Pierce  and Timothy Liebe (writers) and Philippe Briones (penciler)

white tiger

and since I finished Poe, I chose a new book and accompanying Comic Companion from my Jar O’ Books (see below).

Jar-full-o-books-june-july

The day before I finished Poe I let my friend Sarah pick my next book and graphic novel out of the jar since she was there, and she seems to enjoy it 😛 Since Poe was (is) one of my own books, and that pile is the largest, I got her to pick a purple slip which was:

the rescue - Jar O' Books June/July

Apologies for the sub-par photo :s

The Rescue (The Guardians of Ga’Hoole # 3) by Kathryn Lasky, a nice quick read filled with owlish excitement 🙂

For the Comic Companion she picked a green slip which turned out to be:

Clive Barker omnibus - Jar O' Books June/July

Clive Barker Omnibus (collecting The Thief of Always The Great and Secret Show ; and Seduthby Clive BarkerKris OpriskoChris Ryall,  Christopher Monfette (writers), Gabriel HernandezGabriel RodriguezRay Zone (artists),  Robbie Robbins (letterer); which is fitting because  I borrowed it off her in the first place!

On Sunday I started The Rescue and read the first part of the Clive Barker Omnibus, The Thief of Always, which was very true to the novel (it’s still pretty clear in my head since I read it earlier this year so I was raring to scrutinize!) and had an interesting sketchy art-style that suited the story to a T.

So that’s it for the Poe.My.God! Challenge but I will continue with the Comic Companions challenge until I run out of good graphic novels, or  I want to change things up again (whichever comes first) and of course the Jar O’ Books June/July challenge will go till the end of July so I will continue to update you as things occur, as well as delight you with my usual Book Polygamist randomness 🙂

Until next time I bid you all:

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Challenge Update # 7 – The final conquering of Poe!…and other things

Leave a Reply

