A New Challenge and a Sneak-Peek at Challenges for October/November

Greeting my phenomenal, enchanting Bookbaggers!

I have come to you on this fine day (not literally as it is quite wet and wooly where I am at the moment!) to introduce to you a new challenge that I have invented/semi-started, and two which are coming up in the next two months.

Firstly, I decided to set myself a new challenge to help me along with two books I’m reading at the moment –Catch 22 by Joseph Heller, which I have been reading most of the year (and is the main reason behind this challenge) and World War Z by Max Brooks, which I have only been reading since July (which is still not great considering its a really interesting book, but much better than the start date of Catch 22 which is January O_O). Since they’re both war-based books (albeit ones which are a bit unconventional) I thought I’d do a war-based book challenge:

war & pages

I had planned to make a challenge badge on Photoshop or something anyway, but then I discovered PicMonkey, a (mostly) free photo editing site which many bloggers use for making snazzy banners and the like 🙂 It’s so fun and easy to use I will probably use it for all my badges and stuff from now on, and you may see more challenges as an excuse for making new badges ;P

Anyway, back to the challenge! As with my previous challenges anyone is welcome to join me and use the challenge badge, but for myself I have set these rules:

  1. Each week read a minimum of 50 pages from Catch 22 and/or World War Z
  2. The 50 pages must include at least one chapter of Catch 22 
  3. The challenge ends when I have finished both books (from my estimations gleaned from how much is left in each book this will be in about 11 weeks if I stick to the page quota)
  4. I will post a challenge update once a week chronicling the number of pages I read and how I’m going in general

I trialled this challenge a little last week to see what would be a reasonable amount of pages to read, and 50 seems perfect. I haven’t really read any this week so far, but in my head (its an interesting place – make yourself at home!) the challenge has officially started so hopefully I’ll read some this afternoon and over the weekend and I’ll post my first update next week.

Now for the challenges of the future (WoooooOOoooo!) 😀

Recently I was contemplating my various TBR piles and lamenting that I have books which have been in a pile for ages, but also lots of new books I really want to read. Then something just clicked in my brain (possibly in the part which loves alliteration and puns in challenges :P) and two new month-long challenges were born:

Old Books October challenge badge

(more PicMonkey fun in action!)

Old Books October is fairly self-explanatory and simple, but as you all would know by now I don’t really do simple when it comes to choosing books, so here are my rules for the challenge:

  1. The 2 books on each pile that have been there the longest go in the draw. This includes ones which have been on and off the pile due to library due dates and the like. Basically the 2 which have been marked as TBR for the longest are the contenders
  2. In addition to the 2 longest-on-the-pile books, any book (or graphic novel) on any pile which was originally published before the year 2000 also gets entered into the draw
  3. The eligible books from each pile get put in the jar and will be chosen using the current system – when I finish a book the new book will come from the same pile (i.e. if I just finished a library book than I’ll choose a new library book), If I am already reading one from that pile (as is often the case as I read 4-6 at a time and there’s only 4 piles – library; borrowed from friends; books I bought; and graphic novels) the new book will be picked from the pile with the most books
  4. A Comic Companion will still be chosen with each new book but they will also be chosen using the above rules
  5. If the chosen book is one of the 2 longest-on-the-pile ones the next oldest will be added to the draw for next time
  6. The challenge will begin on the 1st of October and end on the 31st

I have already worked out which ones are the contenders for each pile and I will post the list when the challenge officially opens 🙂

As a sort of companion challenge I also created:

New Books November challenge badge

(oooo yeah! PicMonkey is the shit :D)

The rules I’ve set for New Books November are pretty similar to the ones for Old Books October, only backwards-ish:

  1. The 2 books on each pile that have been added the most recently go in the draw. This only includes books added before the start of November, any books added after the challenge starts will be put on hold until it ends (I am also going to try to not add any new books over the whole October/November period, or if I do they will have to wait!)
  2. In addition to the 2 newest-on-the-pile books, any book (or graphic novel) on any pile which was originally published in 2013 (i.e. no reprints/new editions of older books) also gets entered into the draw
  3. The eligible books from each pile get put in the jar and will be chosen using the current system – when I finish a book the new book will come from the same pile (i.e. if I just finished a library book than I’ll choose a new library book), If I am already reading one from that pile (as is often the case as I read 4-6 at a time and there’s only 4 piles – library; borrowed from friends; books I bought; and graphic novels) the new book will be picked from the pile with the most books
  4. A Comic Companion will still be chosen with each new book but they will also be chosen using the above rules
  5. If the chosen book is one of the 2 newest-on-the-pile ones the next newest will be added to the draw for next time
  6. The challenge will begin on the 1st of November and end on the 30th

I have also already worked out the current contenders for this challenge, and they will also be posted when it officially opens 🙂

Besides these new challenges I have decided that I will continue to use the Jar O’ Books method of choosing (as you may have gathered from my rules) for the rest of this year as its great fun 🙂 Who knows – I may even keep it as my regular process as it takes much less time than the old one and is just as random, if not more.

Keep your eyes peeled for my next update and other goodies, and it the meantime:

Keep your eyes on the books!

He he I’m enjoying playing around with new sign offs that are pop-culture based (this one is obviously an X Files reference) but i am open to any other suggestions for a more permanent one to replace “Happy Reading!”. Let me know your suggestions in the comments or via bookpolygamist(at)gmail(dot)com

12 thoughts on “A New Challenge and a Sneak-Peek at Challenges for October/November

  1. Great idea, but I’ve been avoiding Catch 22 for several years now, and trying to finish up my other AP literary merit books, like Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde. Why do so many classics have such dark themes? Anyway, have you ever read Max’s Zombie Guide? It’s a hoot and a half. One reason it’s so funny is that I think he is serious in his advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

