Challenge Update # 18 – Week 7 of War & Pages + A Wrap-Up of Old Books October and More

Hello again my magical, mysterious Bookbaggers!

Welcome to the belated 7th update of  War & Pages + a little wrap-up of Old Books October since New Books November has officially begun, and news about a couple of new books I got that won’t be part of New Books November, but are still exciting 🙂

war &  pages challenge badge

Last week (or the week before last now!) was a good week for this challenge! I read Catch 22 a few times over the week and surpassed my quota:

Catch 22:

catch22

70 pages (4 chapters)

World War Z:

world-war-z-book-cover

Finished! :D

Total:

70 pages

I’m pleased I read 20 pages over my target since I didn’t quite make it last week and it’s getting really interesting (in a surreal and funny way) as I near the end 🙂 

Old Books October challenge badge

There’s not much to say about Old Books October at its close but I thought it deserved a proper send-off, so here’s the highlights:

  1. I finished the Soulless manga by Gail Carriger (writer) and REM (artist) the other day and I have to say I enjoyed it immensely! I was impressed with how much they could get in and with the amount of lines that were straight from the book, and I thought the Manga style of illustration fitted really well for the world and characters of this series. I will definitely we getting my hands on the next installments (each based on a book from the series) and it has also given me a hankering for the last book – Timeless I’ll have to borrow it from Sarah and add it to the pile 😛soulless manga
  2. I finally started Brisingr by Christopher Paolini! Or at least I read the synopsis at the start of it which covers main events of the last two books (very handy since I finished Eldest way back in September 2010!). I got the guilts because my brother (who I borrowed it off) was visiting early this week and he saw the unopened book sitting on the arm of the couch (I thought if it was sitting there when I got home it would encourage me to start :P) and then proceeded to tell me how this is the best one of the series and I just had to read it! Now I’m at least caught up on what’s happened I just need to dive in and then I’m sure I’ll get into it 🙂Brisingr
  3. Overall I was pleased with my old book choices – Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett is very funny so far and the perfect book to tuck into my bag for commuter reading;  The Sandman Vol. 4: Season of Mists was the best volume of The Sandman I’ve read so far; Brisingr, while daunting had probably been on the pile longer than any other (except maybe Everville by Clive Barker which neither I nor Sarah cavn remember how long ago she lent it to me) so it was a very fitting choice; the Free Comic Book Day comics were a fun bonus; and Soulless as I said above was excellent! So, all-in-all it was a fun challenge which allowed me to start some books which have been gathering dust for far too long 🙂

In other book-news last weekend I did a bit of a shop as a birthday present to myself (mainly because I had 50 from my nana to buy my own gift and partly because I had a money spare and was still in a birthday mood :P)

Firstly I went to JB Hi-Fi with my workmate, Scott, specifically to buy American Horror Story: Asylum but then since they were doing a 2 stickered TV series’ for 30 dollars promotion I also go Twin Peaks Season 1 and Six Feet Under Season 1 – a right creep-fest all round 😀

Then I was meeting Sarah at Kaleido where she said I could pick out a book as an extra bday present 😀 Not knowing where to start I suggested maybe a China Miéville book since I loved Kraken which she lent to me. She initially wanted to get me The City and the City since that is another Miéville she has read, but alas it was out of stock so instead she picked Un Lun Dun which another friend of mine had recommended.

ChinaMieville-UnLunDunThen just as we were chatting with one of the Kaleido guys and looking at books near the Miéville’s I spotted something very exciting:

the rookThe Rook by Daniel O’Malley

I first saw The Rook months ago in a bookstore when I was too strapped for cash to buy it, but I did remember the intriguing blurb and that the title had the word “rook” in it. Then recently it popped up on Tammy’s Top Ten Unusual Character Names list on Books, Bones & Buffy, one of my favourite book blogs, and I told myself “I have to find this book!”. Since Sarah knew I had been looking for it she made it my present instead of Un Lun Dun which I then bought for myself 🙂 They both went straight on my TBR pile but will have to wait until after New Books November 😛

Well, that’s it for now, but expect an update next week as usual plus some other bits and pieces 🙂
Until then:

Books. People never really stop loving books. Fifty-first century. By now you’ve got holovids, direct-to-brain downloads, fiction mist. But you need the smell. The smell of books, Donna. Deep breath! – See more at: www.planetclaire.org/quotes/doctorwho/series-four/silence-in-the-library/#sthash.AfRu9AbB.dpuf

Since the last sign-off was Giles from Buffy showing his love for books and their smelly-ness I thought it only fitting to make this one The Doctor voicing his opinion on the subject 🙂 The quote is from possibly my favourite episode of Doctor Who – Silence in the Library. As always if you have other bookish quotes or ones which can be transformed into bookish quotes, share them in the comments, drop me a line at bookpolygamist(at)gmail(dot)com or pop on over to the Facebook page 🙂 

Leave a Reply

