Challenges Update # 19 – Week 8 of War & Pages + New Books Approacheth!

Greetings my scintillating, scallywag Bookbaggers!

Welcome to the 8th update of  War & Pages + news on the state of New Books November one week in 🙂

war &  pages challenge badgeDespite being really lazy with reading Catch 22 during the week I managed to read some Sunday morning and coincidentally ended a chapter at the perfect place to fulfill my quota:

Catch 22:

catch22

50 pages (4 chapters)

World War Z:

world-war-z-book-cover

Finished! :D

Total:

50 pages

How perfect is that?! I’ve also been really slack this week (mainly because Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman is getting even better and has usurped all my other reads) but will likely read my 50 or so pages on Sunday again.

New Books November challenge badgeNew Books November has been up and running for almost a week now, and while I haven’t finished any books and replaced them with New Books November contenders, I am very close! As I said above I have been loving Neverwhere and am a few chapters away from finishing, and Catch 22 has 160 pages left, so if I keep on target two weeks after the end of this one I’ll be finished 🙂

I’m not sure if I’ll finish either before the 15th, but if not that just means I get to do a random pick out of all the piles and then when I do finish I can choose more 😀 Doesn’t sound too shabby to me!

This week I also started my New Books November mascot – Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Tales by Joss Whedon, Jane Espenson,  Becky Cloonan (writers), Tim Sale,Doug Petrie, Leinil Francis Yu, Gene Colan and others (artists)

buffy talesI read the prologue story which was about the first slayer, and then the next three slayer stories: one set in medieval times with a slayer who gets accused of witchcraft; one set during the French Revolution with a slayer who is tricked into killing a mortal man; and one set in an Austen-esque world of balls and manners in which the slayer has to masquerade as an eligible gentlemen.

All the stories were excellent, with different art and lettering fitting the setting, and I enjoyed them all very much 🙂 I will likely read a few more this weekend.

In other news I was naughty and bought more comics last Friday 😛

It started because the first issue of The Sandman: Overture, a 25th Anniversary Sandman origin story, was out which I have been excited about since I first heard word of it, and then once I’m in a comic store I’m bound to find something else I like…and we went to two…

Comic book haul - Quality and Red Griffin

The Sandman: Overture #1 – Chapter One by Neil Gaiman (writer), J.H. Williams III (artist), Dave Stewart (colourist), and Todd Klein (letterer);
Ghostbusters: The New Ghostbusters #1 – Volume 5 by Erik Burnham (writer, artist), Dan Schoening (artist, cover), Andrew Harmon (colourist), and Luis Antonio Delgado (colourist, cover);
Sky Doll: Space Ship #1 by Alessandro Barbucci, Barbara Canepa (writers), Pierre-Mony Chan, and Matteo De Longis (artists);
Zombies Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, Jim McCann (writers), David Baldeon (penciller), and Jordi Tarragona (inker)

I got The Sandman: Overture and The New Ghostbusters from Quality Comics and I got Sky Doll and Zombies Christmas Carol (which were 15 and 17 bucks respectively thanks to a Halloween sale!) from Red Griffin Games

Also yesterday I went into the city after work and got a couple more from another local comic place, Comiczone:

Comics ComiczoneThe Witching Hour is by a host of artists and writers since it’s a horror anthology (follow the title link to see the whole gang :)) and Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess’ Stardust is by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess surprisingly enough, and is more an illustrated novel than a traditional graphic novel.

All of these will have to wait until New Books November is finished, but I certainly won’t have a lack of graphic novels and comics!

That’s all for now Bookbaggers 🙂 Keep a look out for little bit and bobs and next week’s update, but until then:

Ray, when someone asks you if you want a book, you say “YES”!

😛 Since I bought the New Ghostbusters graphic novel I thought it fitting to adapt a quote from one of my fave movies – Ghostbusters 🙂 As always if you have other book-related quotes or pop-culture ones which I can bookify, share away in the comments, send me an email at bookpolygamist(at)gmail(dot)com or post on the Facebook page 🙂

Leave a Reply

