Challenge Update: A Successful Week 3 of Short and Sweet & 1000+ Pages of Epic Fantasy!

Greetings and salutations my dapper, debonair Bookbaggers!

As I had a relatively low-key weekend, I have a much more successful update on my new challenges, Short and Sweet and 1000+ Pages of Epic Fantasy, completely devoid of random bragging about my exciting life (snort):

Short and Sweet challenge badge

As I said in my last update, I finished one of my short reads last week, so I have picked a new one and I also have two new contenders, once again brought to you by the might of a numbered list:

  1. I finished No Nice Girl by Perry Lindsay, which was a great commuting read and helped with the whole rut-breaking thing beautifullyno nice girl
  2.  To replace No Nice Girl I asked my lovely mum to pick again, so I wouldn’t be tempted to cheat, and she picked Above/Below by Stephanie Campisi and Ben PeekI was quite pleased with this choice, as Sarah recently read her copy and said it was great, and I thought the whole concept of the book (two stories published on the flip sides of one book, telling different perspectives of the one narrative, which can be read in either order) was really interesting. Since Sarah started with Below I decided to start with Above so we could compare. I’ve only read a few chapters so far, but it already has me hooked in and wanting to learn more about the world.AboveBelow-cover1-300x246
  3. On Thursday I went grocery shopping at my local Coles and came across a wonderfully terrible/excellent cover in the tiny book section – a little pulpy crime book called Deadly Beloved by Max Allan Collins, with a lingerie-and-trench-coat-clad, pistol-wielding dame on the front. Perhaps with No Nice Girl still fresh in my mind, I gave in to my curiosity and read the start of the blurb, and by that point I was a goner. This is a short snippet:

    Marcy Addwater killed her husband – there’s no question about that. Shot him dead in the motel room where he was trysting with a blonde hooker. Shot the hooker, too. But where the cops might see an open-and-shut case, private eye Michael Tree – Ms Michael Tree – sees a conspiracy. For Ms. Tree (ah get it? – Ms. Tree XD) digging into it could mean digging her own grave…and digging up her own murdered husband’s.

    Add it the fact that it’s based on a comic book series and was a mere $5, I couldn’t resist and since it’s 192 pages long it is a new contender in the challenge 😛deadly beloved

  4. On Friday I went to pick up my very exciting Terry Pratchett book which I told you all about last time. It looked even better once I could flip through it, and as chance would have it is also part of the under-200 pages club so has been added to the challenge 🙂eric
  5.  Lastly, on Sunday I read a story from The Living Dead zombie anthology called ‘Blossom’ by David J Schow, which was a very short, but very creepy story where some S&M foreplay goes awry….and since this is a zombie anthology you can probably guess where that leads….trust me, it’s even creepier than what you’re thinking.A bunch of different zombie stories by different authors? What's not to love?

Here’s the updated list of Short and Sweet contenders:

a clockwork orangeClockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

i am legendI Am Legend by Richard Matheson

hornHorn by Peter M Ball

BleedBleed by Peter M Ball

deadly beloved

Deadly Beloved by Max Allan Collins

ericThe Illustrated Eric by Terry Pratchett (writer) and Josh Kirby

I also had success with my other challenge:

1000+ pages of epic fantasy challenge badge

The Sending:

Maruman on the cover of The Sending22 pages (1 chapter)

Pages remaining: 419

Brisingr:

Brisingr38 Pages (2 chapters)

Pages remaining: 532

Total:

60 Pages

Pages remaining: 951

It didn’t quite make up for last week, but I’m under 1000 pages now and both books are getting really interesting, so I have high hopes for this challenge 🙂

Besides that not a lot happened last week….so here’s a few fun things to make this post more exciting 😛

Firstly this video since my bro and I were talking about the other day:

I used to have this on my MySpace page you guys! Back when MySpace was actually cool and Facebook was just a book made of faces or something weird (not sure if a book made of faces is less weird than Facebook however). I likely also had a bad early ’00 song that automatically played in the background of my MySpace and made it take forever to load…and I was probably using dial-up to access it. Man, I hope most of you even knew what I was talking about then or else I’m going to feel pre-maturely old O.O

Next a couple of gifs from Orphan Black, which is my current obsession in TV-land:

baaaaaaa

felix

And lastly a video from the Arctic Monkeys concert I went to @ Perth Arena on Tuesday night (not one I filmed – I was much further away) of my favourite song off their new album, and the song they closed an epic set with:

It’s a bit wobbly and you can hear the fans singing along as clear, if not clearer than, the band, but I kind of like that – it shows the excitement and energy in the room that night better than if it had perfect picture and sound, you know?

That’ll do for now Bookbaggers, but I’ll catch ya next week when I do my next update, and there may be some other bits and bobs in the works too.

Until then:

good-night-apocalypse

Leave a Reply

