Quick! Write something inspiring!

At the end of last year I received a lovely surprise when checking how my little blog was chugging along via my handy dandy smartphone – one of my followers/followees cricketmuse nominated me for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

I was a little stunned because I don’t really consider my brand of blogging to be particularly inspiring, but when I saw that she had nominated me because of my Save The Words Saturday posts (may they Rest In Peace in the discontinued blog feature afterlife) I was touched. I only started the Save The Words Saturdays because I personally love strange words that have fallen out of use, savethewords.org was such a fun site I wanted to spread the word (pardon the pun) about it, and since it was the National Year of Reading I wanted to do some new features which promoted reading and literacy…..wow, ok now that I read that back it does sound a little inspiring O.O

Anyway, I didn’t initially seek to inspire, but I’m tickled pink that cricketmuse was inspired by my posts (especially because her blog is quite the inspirational itself, which is why she was nominated for the award and paid it forward to me) and I firstly just wanted to say thank you 🙂

Before sitting down to fulfil my nominee duties I did a little search to try to determine the origin of The Very Inspiring Blogger Award (like I did for The Versatile Blogger Award) but I couldn’t find a starting point, and the rules seemed to differ somewhat from blog to blog.

From what I can gather the protocol for a nominee is as follows:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog. Thanks again cricketmuse!
  2. List 7 random things about yourself. See below ↓
  3. Nominate other blogs. This is where there’s a bit of a discrepancy – some nominated blogs said 7 and some said 15. Since I nominated 15 for the Versatile Blogger Award and I love repeated numbers (which may or may-not be one of my random facts ;)) I’ll be doing 7. See these below ↓ also
  4. Notify the nominees. Will do! 🙂
  5. Put the award logo on your blog.
very-inspirational-blogger-award

Done and done!

The 7 blogs that I nominate are:

  1. cricketmuse – because one good nomination deserves another and her posts always make me 🙂
  2. Crafting Art with Words – a beautifully simple blog which constantly inspires me with its short poems and accompanying photographs
  3. The Daily Post – for inspiring thousands of bloggers with new ideas for posts
  4. The Better Man Project – pick out any one post off this blog and you will find a simply honest and inspiring post about one man and his quest for self-improvement
  5. witches can be right – a wonderful book blog which is more about stories than books – some of the posts are about fairy tales, fables and spirituality and on the whole I find them very inspiring 🙂
  6. 12 Books in 12 Months – The name of this blog speaks for itself – it follows the journey of a writer completing the first drafts of 12 books in 12 months (and then beyond) and what she has managed to achieve blows me away.
  7. Doctor Grumpy in the House – nominated/awarded because it inspires me to have a hearty chuckle whenever I read a new post, and to feel a bit better about the insanity that is often in my own field (libraries/tertiary education)

And now for the 7 random facts:

  1. I’m crazy for paint samples.
    If I visit a hardware/home improvement store the first place I’ll make a beeline to (unless I’m on an in-out mission) is the wall of little paint sample cards that people can take home to help them decide on what exact shade of beige they want to paint their living room. In my life so far I have never actually needed the samples for their traditional purpose as I’ve never repainted/decorated a room, and yet I have a growing collection of them in a box at the bottom of my wardrobe. Why? Well besides the obvious fact that I’m a tad cuckoo, I just love the ridiculous names given to the paints! Whoever comes up with the names for paint must have an awesome job, but also I suspect they have never seen or experienced the origin of some of the names – why is Self-Destruct beige? Why is Hide And Seek a bright yellow (anyone who had played that game before would know that a yellow-clad participant would be an instant target)? And what kind of Looking Glass is a gross grey? All of these (and many more baffling and giggle-worthy ones) are in my collection.

    paintsample book

    A world of giggling and sniggering possibilities!

  2. Ditto for racehorse names
    I don’t collect these but I do enjoy reading them out of racing forms or when there’s a race on TV – and I’m not even a gambler! I don’t really understand the betting system for races, but I’m fine with it as an activity because the names are so great! The best thing about them is the juxtaposition of noble, inspiring names (such as Aristides, winner of the first Kentucky Derby; Might and Power; and Black Knight) against silly ones bursting with puns which I figure were thought up just to embarrass any race official or bookie who has to shout them out  (i.e. Bodacious Tatas; Nosupeforyou – yes, based on the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld; and, That’s Whatshesaid).

    "An coming from behind is That's Whatshesaid!"

    “And coming from behind is That’s Whatshesaid!”

  3. I’ve never been out of Australia
    While I have been on holiday in New South Wales (I live in Western Australia) I have never travelled overseas. This is pretty unusual for someone my age (26) as a trip to Bali, Thailand or New Zealand is a bit of a rite of passage for most young Aussies, but I’ve never had an interest in cheap, booze-fuelled holidays and would rather save up for a more cultural trip (say to Italy, Greece, France, the UK or Russia) that I can enjoy at an age where its more meaningful…plus so far in my life I’ve been too poor and disorganised to travel :s

    the world

    I’ll get there eventually world

  4. I love repeating numbers
    Like I said above, I have a bit of a thing for repeating numbers. This may be because my birthday is the 22nd of October (alas, not November), and I certainly love multiple twos the most, but really any repeated number makes me happy. You know how some people make a wish if they see 11:11 on a digital clock? I don’t personally do that, but I get a tiny thrill any time I  see any repeated number time. I addition to this (and this is where my fixation takes a slight OCD turn) when I use a microwave and the recommended time allows me to do so, I will cook my food for a length of time with three repeated numbers (i.e. if the box says “cook for 2-3 mins” i’ll cook it for 2 minutes and 22 seconds). I’m not saying that I have to do things in repeated numbers, or that If I didn’t it would upset me (which I think means I don’t actually have OCD) but still…so far this list is making be sound like an insane hermit O.o

    2 22-cover

    Funnily enough I have never seen this movie, despite the name…

  5. I have an ever-increasing collection of earrings and head-bands/bandanas etc.
    Ever since high-school I have expressed myself through headbands, clips and other hair decorations rather than colourful clothing and make-up. When I shaved my head for the Shave for a Cure this extended to earrings because they could be seen so much clearer than when I had long hair. Since then matching my hair accessories and earrings to my (now much brighter) clothing has kind of become my “thing”, which makes it very easy for people close to me when looking for birthday and Xmas presents 😛

    Some of my earring collection - all the non-hanging ones and ones that don't get worn a lot reside in a little drawer of a jewellery box

    Some of my earring collection – all the non-hanging ones and ones that don’t get worn a lot reside in a little drawer of a jewellery box

  6. I’ve recently become obsessed with Lush Fresh Handmade Cosmetics
    This started on my birthday last year when I popped into their store in the city centre of Perth (which I had frequented before to buy a Mother’s Day present and generally to sniff delicious-smelling concoctions) and bought myself some bday goodies. I then went back when I received some birthday moolah and my shower has been invaded by amazing Lush products ever since.

    6026-happy-Happy-Joy-Joy-500x500

    The newest item on my wishlist

  7. I have a big collection of bookmarks and I try to match the bookmark I’m using to the cover art and/or subject matter of the book
    I have loved bookmarks since I was a kid as I loathed the thought of folding down page corners (*shudder*) or
    using any old piece of paper to mark my place. As I got older my collection grew as I usually bought a new bookmark with each bookshop purchase, and as friends and family knew I liked them I often was gifted free bookmarks they collected or when I was given a book. Since I have so many its pretty easy to match the bookmark to the book, and as I said above, I like colour coordinating so that just filters down to my books as well 🙂

    My current collection of bookmarks

    My current collection of bookmarks

I’ll end with a quick nag – the Micro Reviews Poll ends on the 27th of January, so if you want your say on the future of Micro Reviews get voting! Currently all 4 votes are in favour of continuing the Micro Reviews but supplemented with some full-length reviews, so that seems to be the most likely outcome, but there is still time for a different result if you so desire.

Oh! and this post is a bit of a milestone for Book Polygamist – it is my 200th post! 😀

I just want to say a big thank you to all my followers and commenters. We may be a small group, but without you, my Bookbaggers, I would probably have abandoned this endeavour (as a usually do with projects after a while) long ago, and that would be a shame because I really do enjoy writing it and reading your feedback.

Bring on post number 300! Also Book Polygamist’s 2nd birthday is approaching (March 5th) and since I completely forgot about the 1st birthday I will make sure I don’t let this one pass without some kind of special surprise 🙂

In the meantime, keep your collective eyes peeled for my Top 10 Books of 2012 and The 2012 Book Polygamist Awards which will be up before the end of January, as well as the usual Notable Quotables, updates on my current reads, and once the poll has finished, more Micro Reviews (as well as some sorely neglected full-length ones that are waiting in the wings).

Until then I wish all my fabulous Bookbaggers:

Happy Reading!

Perhaps on one of the wonderful blogs I nominated 😉

10 thoughts on “Quick! Write something inspiring!

  1. What a fun read! Oz is on my would-like-to go-there list. Since I don’t enjoy traveling is probably not going to happen. When I do travel I try to buy earrings to commemorate the place. (No, I don’t buy little shells or such that smack tourist 😉
    Thanks again for the extended renom. And keep on saving words!

    Like

  2. MM says:

    U know how horses get there names? They take part of the name from the father and part of the name from the mother horse to create a new name…

    Like

    • I know many of them do – such as this year’s Melbourne Cup winner Green Moon whose mothers name was Green Noon (and her lineage apparently goes back a long way with “Green” names) and fathers name began with an M – but I think some are just on the owner’s whim – especially if the horse doesn’t come from an established racehorse lineage or it’s parents names would make up a terrible new racehorse name 😛 I can’t imagine that “That’s Whatshesaid” came from a mother called That’s something and a father called Whatshesaid but you never know!

      Like

      • MM says:

        All races horses can be traced back to a group of 3 or 4 horse – The first race horses and almost all known races horse with a pure linage come from them

        Like

  3. I do like the idea of matching the bookmark to the book.
    I’ve just ‘received’ the VIB nominee thing and have had no more success than you in tracing its origin. Seems churlish to say, but it smell like a chain letter to me. But it also seems that everyone is (a) too polite, or (b) desperate for any blog promotion opportunities that come their way, to say ‘No.’
    PS. Hope you get out of Aus some day. There’s some nice stuff out there.
    Bruce, Melbourne.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting Bruce, and congratulations on the nomination 🙂

      Blogger awards are one of those things about the blogging community that I’m still not sure is genuine or a form of promotional chain letter like you suggested, but as they seem pretty harmless, I’m always open to the complement and possible promotion.

      I also hope I get off our lovely Island one day – I’m sick of living vicariously through my jet-setting friends!

      Thanks again for the visit and comment and I hope you have a great day.

      Book Polygamist

      Like

Leave a Reply

